YEON EDUCATION
Test & EducationWhat Texas's new high school GPA law means for your family
Texas is moving to one statewide rule for calculating high school GPA. Using the rule text and the Texas Education Agency's (TEA) responses to public comments, we look at what changes, whether easier courses become a way to raise GPA, and whether this leads to GPA inflation.
What changed
SB 1191, passed by the Texas Legislature in 2025, changed the law so that TEA "must" set a standard method for high school GPA, where before it only "may". Districts have to follow that method. TEA published the proposed rule for public comment on Thursday, March 26, 2026, and it takes effect on Wednesday, September 23, 2026.
| Item | New rule |
|---|---|
| Same weight | AP, IB, OnRamps dual enrollment courses, non-CTE dual credit |
| Lower weight | CTE (career and technical courses on the WECM list) dual credit |
| Honors | Weighted if the district offers it; the district decides how much |
| Course caps | Districts can't cap the number of weighted courses per year (TEA comment response) |
| Weight values | Districts still set the values, such as 6.0 or 5.0 |
| Locked by class | Rules applied to a graduating class (cohort) can't change before that class graduates |
The rule applies to students who are in 6th grade now and younger. Students in 7th grade and above are not covered, so their district's current policy stays in place. Districts can still revise those policies on their own, as before. Pflugerville, for example, has already amended its policy to raise dual credit and OnRamps to 6.0 starting with the Class of 2029.
Seven Austin-area districts, before and after
| District | Now: AP · IB | Now: OnRamps | Now: Dual credit | Under the new rule | Impact |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leander | 6.0 | Not offered | Not in GPA | Dual credit weighted the same as AP (OnRamps not offered) | High |
| Round Rock | 6.0 (rank GPA; electives included from the Class of 2028) | 6.0 | AP-level only at the Early College HS | Dual credit at every high school weighted the same as AP | High |
| Pflugerville | 6 | 5 (6 from the Class of 2029) | 5 (6 from the Class of 2029) | Already amending in the same direction | Low |
| Austin | 5.0 (max) | Not stated in policy | 5.0 for designated courses only | Dual credit and OnRamps outside the designated list also weighted the same as AP | Moderate |
| Eanes | 100-point scale + 10 | Not stated in policy | Only courses taken through the district count | Policy must state that dual credit and OnRamps get the same bonus as AP | Moderate |
| Lake Travis | 100-point scale × 1.2 | × 1.2 (school profile) | Not in GPA | Dual credit weighted the same as AP | High |
| Del Valle | 6.0 | 6.0 | 6.0 | Only CTE dual credit moves to a lower weight | Low |
- All seven district policies were published before the new rule took effect. The most recent revision is Austin ISD's, dated Wednesday, June 3, 2026. The actual numbers for today's 6th graders won't be final until each district publishes its revised policy.
- The weighting is equal, but the numbers aren't. Austin ISD's AP maximum of 5.0 and Leander ISD's 6.0 can stay different under the new rule. Comparing GPA numbers across districts still tells you nothing.
- Some districts still limit which courses count toward class rank. Leander (up to 8 semesters in each of the four core subjects plus up to 4 semesters of world language) and Round Rock (mostly core courses, with some electives added from the Class of 2028) will have to square these limits with the ban on yearly caps. We'll know how once their revisions come out.
💡 YEON Insight
Districts that left dual credit out of GPA will see the biggest change. Even within one school, a student taking a lot of dual credit and a student taking only AP will now have their GPAs calculated differently than before.
If the weight is the same, can an easier course raise GPA?
The weight depends on the type of course. The grade (A or B) comes from the teacher of that course. Picking courses with a high weight and an easier A already works with AP. The new rule simply opens the same option for dual credit courses.
How hard are dual credit courses?
- College Board study, 2015. Students with an AP score of 3 or higher did better than dual enrollment students on most college outcomes. Keep in mind the data covers the Class of 2006, and the study comes from the organization that runs AP.
- Columbia University CCRC study of Texas students, released Tuesday, October 14, 2025. Students who took both dual credit and AP/IB had the best results: 71% earned a degree or credential within six years (60% a bachelor's).
So "dual credit is easy" doesn't hold up as a rule. It depends on the course, the school and the teacher.
The real differences: a standardized score and where the credit transfers
| AP · IB | Dual credit · OnRamps | |
|---|---|---|
| Score beyond the class grade | National standardized exam score | No standardized exam |
| Texas public university credit | Each university awards credit based on the score | Credit awarded for passing the course |
| Top out-of-state private universities | Credit or placement based on the score | Many don't accept it |
Not every out-of-state university says no. Michigan accepts it after a department review, and MIT decides case by case based on the course and grade. Also, credit and admission are separate questions. Admissions readers can count dual credit as a rigorous course, but whether it counts as college credit after you enroll depends on the university.
Will this lead to GPA inflation?
Short answer: the numbers will probably go up (our estimate), but what class rank means won't change.
Why the numbers go up
- In districts that left dual credit out of GPA, weighted GPA goes up for students taking dual credit.
- Districts can't cap weighted courses per year, so the more weighted courses a student stacks, the higher the top GPA can go.
- During public comment, counselors and educators raised concerns about GPA inflation and asked for "more weight for harder courses." TEA declined, saying the law requires equal weighting.
Why class rank means the same thing
- Class rank is relative. If most students' GPAs go up, the order stays the same.
- What changes the order is who takes more weighted courses, and with better grades.
💡 YEON Insight
Choose courses by the colleges you're aiming for, not by how much they add to GPA. If the goal is a top out-of-state university, put AP/IB exam scores first, since they give a standardized number. If the goal is a Texas public university, put dual credit and OnRamps first, since the credit is guaranteed to count.
What to do now, by grade
| Grade (2026–27) | Rule that applies | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| 6th and below | New rule | Watch for your district's new GPA policy. Also check whether high school credit courses taken in middle school (e.g., Algebra I in 8th grade) count toward GPA |
| 7th–8th | Current district policy (district may revise) | Before high school, check how your district's GPA policy counts dual credit and OnRamps |
| 9th–12th | Current district policy | Review the mix of AP and dual credit against your target colleges |
Conclusion
- The new rule standardizes the calculation, not admissions. Weight values, which courses count toward rank and each university's credit policy still vary.
- Inside Texas, class rank and credit transfer decide the outcome. How many weighted courses a student takes, and with what grades, sets their rank within the school. Texas public universities accept dual credit and OnRamps credit.
- Outside Texas, standardized exam scores and grades within the school decide the outcome. What a student needs is a course plan worked backward from their target colleges, not a higher GPA number.
Austin-Area High School Analysis
We analyzed 30 schools across seven districts using official data: academic environment, actual college outcomes at 11 schools, and each district's GPA and class rank rules. Families of current students can enter their member code to see the full report.
View the analysisReferences
- Texas Register, 19 TAC §74.3001 adopted rule and responses to comments (published Friday, September 18, 2026)
- TEA, §74.3001 adopted rule text (PDF)
- TEA, To the Administrator Addressed: SB 1191 GPA calculation (Thursday, March 26, 2026)
- Texas Legislature, SB 1191 enrolled bill text
- TASB Policy Online, EIC(LOCAL) policies for the seven districts
- Community Impact, Round Rock ISD to expand courses used to calculate class rankings (Friday, July 19, 2024)
- TEA, OnRamps at The University of Texas at Austin
- Yale College, Credit from Other Universities
- Princeton University, Advanced Placement
- Stanford University, Undergraduate Transfer Credit
- MIT, AP & Transfer Credit
- University of Michigan, College Credit for Dual Enrollment during High School
- College Board, A Comparison of the College Outcomes of AP and Dual Enrollment Students (2015)
- Columbia CCRC, outcomes for students who combine dual enrollment with AP/IB (Tuesday, October 14, 2025)